The Most Universal Language.

What is your love language?! This helped me and Dear Alyne a lot - and I am sure it can help you!

Posted by Nas Daily on Friday, November 22, 2019

Whenever we travel, language becomes a barrier in certain countries. It becomes challenging to communicate, misunderstandings happen more frequently and people get frustrated. It’s also impractical to master all the commonly spoken languages in the world — hence the need for translation apps.

However, we discovered a different type of language that not many people know of, when they actually should. This language is the most universal language in the world because everyone should know how to speak it. In fact, it doesn’t even require a lot of words. This language is none other than love languages.

Now, you might be wondering — what are love languages? It’s basically a type of language that everyone speaks but nobody notices. According to Gary Chapman, a famous author who wrote a book about love languages, he defined it as five different acts in which people express love. Different people relate to different languages. So, finding out both you and your partner’s love language will do wonders for your relationship. Here are the love languages, explained:

1. Words of affirmation

Love Languages Words of Affirmation

These are verbal expressions of care and affection. Simple sentences such as: “Thank you for taking out the trash”, “I love you” or “I am so grateful for you”. It’s even better to include the reasons behind the love by leaving them a voice message or written notes. If your partner’s love language is words of affirmation, he/she wants you to talk to them directly through genuine words of kindness. Verbal messages like these are a form of consistent reassurance which holds great importance for some in their relationship.

2. Gifting

We reckon that some of you prefer to express your love by gifting and presenting physical items. The act of gifting tells your partner that you cared enough to think about him/her in advance. The idea of going the extra mile to get something to make your partner smile is very heartwarming to them. The absence of daily gestures or missing special occasions, however, can be deemed hurtful to those whose love language is gifting.

3. Acts of service

Love Languages Acts of Service

This particular love language boils down to doing something for your partner that you know they would like. For example, if you cook a meal, wash the dishes, vacuum the floor, assist to pack their luggages, these are all seen as ways of showing love. Basically, anything that you do to ease the burden of responsibility is viewed as an act of service. For someone who favours acts of service as their love language, the lack of initiative or support are more damaging above anything else.

4. Quality time

This is one of the most popular love languages that people share. Quality time is all about giving each other undivided attention. Spending time together meaningfully involves paying attention to each other, sharing plans for the future, and creating something together. In a world where we’re so connected digitally, quality time allows you to focus on raw conversations. These conversations may propel your relationship to greater heights. However, a distracted and distant partner will be your biggest pitfall.

5. Physical touch

Love Languages Physical Touch

Physical touch primarily revolves around expressing love through holding hands, hugging and kissing. If you speak this love language, you thrive on physical touch and intimacy. Without it, you tend to feel a sense of isolation. This might be something that most couples already do. But for some, physical touch is a crucial way of telling their partner how they feel.

Love Languages

In case you need a recap of what love languages are, the five types are words of affirmation, gifting, acts of service, quality time and physical touch. Out of these five, each one of us has a primary love language which resonates more deeply than the rest. 

The bottom line is that not everyone expresses love the same way. By taking the time to learn these love languages, you can better manage expectations and strengthen bonds — we can attest to that. Trust us when we say that it takes more than occasional fancy dates to keep your relationship afloat.

Leave a Reply